skip to main content

Business and Finance

Shipman & Goodwin's business lawyers represent public and private companies, including businesses that are local, regional, national, and international in scope. Our clients include businesses at all stages of development, including start-up and emerging companies; closely held and family businesses; middle market companies; quasi-public agencies; and non-profit organizations.

Clients are engaged in private equity and venture capital, information technology and software, wireless technologies, telecommunications, e-business, manufacturing, distribution, banking, insurance, health care, specialty materials, real estate construction and development, transportation, retail and wholesale marketing, investment banking and advisory services, hedge fund investing, public utilities, professional and consulting services, and agricultural business.

Our team of over 50 attorneys provides a full range of services to our business clients, including corporate, securities, mergers and acquisitions, private equity, e-business, environmentaltax and contracting.

Our business lawyers pride themselves on giving practical, business-oriented and creative advice, with broad industry knowledge in those sectors in which our clients do business.

Attorneys

David O. Bigger
Associate
dbigger@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5203
Hartford Office
Robert M. Borden
Partner
rmborden@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5823
Hartford Office
Danielle McGrath Braun
Associate
dbraun@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5787
Hartford Office
Donna L. Brooks
Partner
dbrooks@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5917
Hartford Office
Rebecca B. Brown
Partner
rbrown@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8196
Stamford Office
Julia R. Camarco
Associate
jcamarco@goodwin.com
860-251-5058
Hartford Office
Raymond J. Casella
Partner
rcasella@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5808
Hartford Office
Coleman H. Casey
Of Counsel
ccasey@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5112
Hartford Office
Dame Rose S. Catalan
Associate
dcatalan@goodwin.com
860-251-5822
Hartford Office
Carolyn J. Cavolo
Counsel
ccavolo@goodwin.com
(203) 863-6405
Greenwich Office
Stamford Office
Kimberly S. Cohen
Partner
kcohen@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5804
Hartford Office
Michael T. Conway
Partner
mconway@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3011
New York Office
Claire M. Conway
Associate
cconway@goodwin.com
860-251-5055
Hartford Office
Andrew N. Davis
Partner
adavis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5839
Hartford Office
Robert L. Day III
Associate
rday@goodwin.com
860-251-5602
Hartford Office
Christine M. Donnelly
Associate
cdonnelly@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5098
Hartford Office
Marc R. Esterman
Counsel
mesterman@goodwin.com
203-324-8150
Stamford Office
Stephen M. Forte
Counsel
sforte@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3015
New York Office
Michael J. Fritz
Partner
mfritz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5735
Hartford Office
New York Office
Scott M. Gerard
Partner
sgerard@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8195
Stamford Office
New York Office
Lisa Denise Gladke
Counsel
lgladke@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5925
Hartford Office
Ira H. Goldman
Partner
igoldman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5820
Hartford Office
Eric S. Goldstein
Partner
egoldstein@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5059
Hartford Office
Lara A. Greenberg
Associate
lgreenberg@goodwin.com
860-251-5237
Hartford Office
Donald R. Gustafson
Partner
dgustafson@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8103
Stamford Office
Barry C. Hawkins
Of Counsel
bhawkins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8104
Stamford Office
Catherine F. Intravia
Partner
cintravia@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5805
Hartford Office
Katie P. Kasinskas
Counsel
kkasinskas@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8165
Stamford Office
Kathleen M. LaManna
Partner
klamanna@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5603
Hartford Office
John H. Lawrence
Partner
jlawrence@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5139
Hartford Office
Aaron D. Levy
Partner
alevy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5893
Hartford Office
Miriam Godfrey Lewis
Associate
mlewis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5007
Hartford Office
Alan E. Lieberman
Partner
alieberman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5801
Hartford Office
Matthew J. Monteith
Associate
mmonteith@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5784
Hartford Office
Scott L. Murphy
Partner
smurphy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5920
Hartford Office
Kathleen M. Mylod
Partner
kmylod@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5332
Hartford Office
Kent S. Nevins
Partner
knevins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8163
Stamford Office
New York Office
Nina B. Pelc-Faszcza
Associate
npelcfaszcza@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5205
Hartford Office
Nathan Z. Plotkin
Partner
nplotkin@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5320
Hartford Office
Marie C. Pollio
Partner
mpollio@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5561
Hartford Office
Matthew D. Ritter
Partner
mritter@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5092
Hartford Office
William G. Rock
Partner
wrock@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5121
Hartford Office
Louis B. Schatz
Partner
lschatz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5838
Hartford Office
New York Office
James C. Schulwolf
Partner
jschulwolf@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5949
Hartford Office
Stephen I. Siller
Partner
ssiller@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3012
New York Office
J. Dormer Stephen
Partner
dstephen@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2803
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Kelly A. Trahan
Counsel
ktrahan@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8198
Stamford Office
New York Office
Michael L. Widland
Partner
mwidland@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8101
Stamford Office
Latonia C. Williams
Associate
lwilliams@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5037
Hartford Office
Lisa M. Zana
Partner
lzana@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8171
Stamford Office
New York Office

Experience

Commercial Contracts
Representation of Global Professional Services Company
Representation of Global Manufacturing Company
Representation of SaaS Company
Corporate Counsel
506(c) General Solicitation - Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Medical Device Company
Investment Management
Representation of Quantitative Market-Neutral Fund
Mergers and Acquisitions
Private Company Exit Transaction
Acquisition of U.S. Holding Company
Strategic Acquisition of Start-Up Company
Mergers, Acquisitions & Joint Ventures
Acquisition of Telecommunications Company Based in the Midwest
Other
Formation of Spin Out for Connecticut Green Bank
$52 Million Syndicated Credit Facility Closing
Acquisition of a $4.5 Million Mezzanine Loan
Senior Credit Facility Refinancing
Restructuring of Major Cultural Arts Organization
Acquisition of Multiple Mezzanine Loans Related to Properties in New Orleans, Indianapolis and Milwaukee
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Originations
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Arrakis Therapeutics
Successful Affiliation of Two Major Healthcare Organizations
Sale of Hydro Massage Equipment Manufacturer
Series A Preferred Stock Financing for Oncology Focused Biotechnology Company
Series A Preferred Stock Financing for Biopharmaceutical Company
Closing of Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Financing Loan Origination
Finance and Development Counsel for New York City Developers and Investors
Acquisition and Financing of Musculoskeletal Tissue Business
$41.6M Series B Financing for Arvinas
$40 Million Series C Financing of Protagonist Therapeutics, Inc.
Recapitalization for Construction Supply Industry Leader
Sale of Water-Activated Tape Dispenser Company
Unique Financing Structure for Clean Energy Program
Unique Renewable Energy Financing to Fund New CT Solar Lease Program
Strategic Investment and Merger for CyVek, Inc.
Aviation Component Manufacturer Section 363 Sale
Assumption of Control and Operation of Rentschler Field and the XL Center
$203 Million Financing for University Health Ambulatory Care Center
$18.6 Million Development of a Green Parking Facility
Acquisition of a $20 Million Subordinate Mortgage B Note
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mezzanine Loan Acquisition
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Hyalex Orthopaedics
Acquisition of a $20 Million Mezzanine Loan Indirectly Secured by Properties in the Mid-Atlantic Region
Acquisition, Financing and Development of Several Major Projects throughout the United States
Series B Preferred Stock Financing of Onkos Surgical
$10 Million Mezzanine Loan Origination Indirectly Secured by a Historic Property Leased by a University in Downtown Chicago
Series A Preferred Stock Financing of Dauntless Pharmaceuticals
Acquisition and Financing of New Corporate Headquarters for a New York Based Company
Multi-Year Development of Major Manhattan Mixed-Use Properties
Acquisition of a $10 Million Mezzanine Loan Indirectly Secured by Properties in the New York Metropolitan Area
Acquisition and Development of Jamaica, New York Hilton Hotel
Origination of a $10 Million Mezzanine Loan Related to a Hospitality Property in Virginia
Series E Preferred Stock Financing of ZipLine Medical
Series B Preferred Stock Financing of Two Bit Circus, Inc.
Biotech Company Pioneers Technology For New Class of Drugs
Closing of Secondary Market Commercial Real Estate Mortgage Loan Acquisition
Acquisition of a $4.5 Million Subordinate Mortgage B Note and Origination of Related $5 Million Mezzanine Loan
$400 Million Joint Venture to Acquire Fee Interest in the "Lipstick Building"

News

November 16, 2018  Shipman & Goodwin Launches Opportunity Zones Team
November 1, 2018  Shipman & Goodwin LLP Ranked Among 2019 "Best Law Firms"
August 15, 2018  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Firm Attorneys
May 3, 2018  Chambers Recognizes 23 Attorneys as Leaders in Their Field
January 18, 2018  Firm Expands National Real Estate and Commercial Finance Practices
December 13, 2017  John Lawrence Discusses Recent Corporate Law Reforms with CT Law Tribune
November 1, 2017  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2018 "Best Law Firms"
August 15, 2017  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Firm Attorneys
June 14, 2017  Donna Brooks Appointed Chair of CT Banking Dept's Securities Advisory Council
May 26, 2017  Chambers Recognizes 22 as Leaders in Their Field
December 16, 2016  CURE Entrepreneur of the Year Award
November 1, 2016  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2017 "Best Law Firms"
October 18, 2016  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2016 Super Lawyers
August 15, 2016  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 39 Firm Attorneys
May 31, 2016  Chambers Recognizes 22 as Leaders in Their Field
November 2, 2015  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2016 "Best Law Firms"
October 19, 2015  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2015 Super Lawyers
May 19, 2015  Chambers Recognizes 23 as Leaders in Their Field
November 3, 2014  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2015 "Best Law Firms"
May 23, 2014  Chambers Recognizes 24 as Leaders in their Field
November 1, 2013  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2014 "Best Law Firms"
November 1, 2012  Firm Ranked Among 2013 "Best Law Firms"
April 17, 2012  Michael Widland Honored for Restructuring Stamford Center for the Arts

Events

November 30, 2018  CLE Event: Webinar: The New Opportunity Zones Program: What Businesses and Investors Need to Know
November 13, 2018  Shipman & Goodwin – CCSU Elevator Pitch Competition
November 8, 2018  Alternative Funding Sources & Insights
November 7, 2018  Marcum New England Life Sciences and Biotech Summit
October 9, 2018  Primer on National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) Term Sheet for Series A Equity Investment
September 27, 2018  CLE Event: Webinar: Let's Make a Deal - Keys to a Successful Acquisition of a Private Company
September 25, 2018   Bioscience Investor Outlook: 2018 Trend Report and 2019 Projections
May 22, 2018  Drafting Legal Opinions for Article 9 Security Interests: Navigating the Complexities and Avoiding Liability
May 15, 2018  CLE Event: Webinar: LIBOR is Ending...What Do I Do Now?
May 3, 2018  CLE Event: Cryptocurrency in Venture Capital Transactions
April 25, 2018  CLE Event: Webinar: Supplier Strategies for Distressed Customers
April 4, 2018  CLE Event: Webinar: Let's Make a Deal - Keys to a Successful Sale of a Private Company
February 15, 2018  Business Divorce: Litigating the Breakup of an LLC
January 30, 2018  UCC Article 9: Purchase Money Security Interests and Blanket Asset Lien Exclusions - A CLE Webinar
January 25, 2018  Digital Health - InsurTech With Benefits
November 29, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Back to the Basics – Keys to a Successful Commercial Finance Transaction
October 19, 2017  CVG & CT Tech Tour
October 12, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Show Me The Money - Keys to a Successful Venture Capital Transaction
September 19, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Overview of the New IRS Partnership Audit Rules - What You Need to Know
June 28, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: The Lender Asked for What? Understanding Loan Documents From the Borrower's Perspective
June 21, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Contracting With Governmental Entities in Connecticut
June 7, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Boards of Directors and Advisory Boards - How They Work and How They Work for You
May 24, 2017  CLE Event: Webinar: Your Client, Customer or Business Partner Filed for Bankruptcy. What Should You Do Now?
May 9, 2017  Webinar: Negotiating a Successful Health Care Transaction
April 26, 2017  What You Need to Know to Negotiate a Successful Health Care Transaction
March 21, 2017  Structuring Loan Participation Agreements, Conducting Lender Due Diligence: Strategies for Lead Lenders and Participants to Minimize and Manage Risk of Participations and Sales
February 22, 2017  Webinar: Subordination and Intercreditor Agreements
February 15, 2017  UCC Secured Transactions - Drafting Legal Opinions for Article 9 Security Interests
January 26, 2017  Webinar: Finding Your Way Through the UCC3 Financing Fog
December 8, 2016  Webcast: Venture Funding Strategies for 2017: Surviving The Cautious Venture Capital Marketplace
September 28, 2016  Bioscience Investor Outlook: 2016 Trend Report and 2017 Projections
February 11, 2016  CVG: Investor & Entrepreneur Network Event
January 28, 2016  Webinar: Getting the Money – Roadmap of a Financing Transaction
October 7, 2015  Aerospace and Manufacturing Forum
September 24, 2015  Data Security and Privacy Risk Management in a New World of Big Data Collection and Sharing
September 2, 2015  Webinar: Structuring Agent and Co-Lender Agreements in Multi-Lender Deals
August 27, 2015  Webinar: Delaware Corporate Law Essentials
March 31, 2015  4th Annual NYIC/CFA Joint Event
February 25, 2015  ACFA: Does Unitranche Mean Unity? Demystifying the Agreement Among Lenders
November 11-14, 2014  CFA: Playing in the Sandbox – Relationships and Key Issues Among Syndicate Banks and Agents
November 25, 2014  4th Annual Economic Forum
June 16, 2014  CBA: What Every Lawyer Should Know About Selling a Closely-Held Business -- Before It's Too Late
April 23, 2014  Exit Strategies for Founders
January 28, 2014  Exit Strategies for Founders
October 16, 2013  Exit Strategies for Founders
May 9, 2012  Strategies for Business Transitions in Today's Economy
March 30 - April 1, 2012  Startup Weekend Stamford
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2018. All Rights Reserved.