skip to main content

State Attorneys General

Shipman & Goodwin has established a State Attorneys General Practice Group to represent clients in the full range of enforcement actions brought by state attorneys general throughout the country, including government inquiries, investigations and litigation. We represent businesses of all sizes and individuals in critical areas with laws enforced by state attorneys general, including data privacy, consumer protection, antitrust and environmental regulation.

Led by George Jepsen, former Connecticut Attorney General, the firm’s multi-disciplinary team draws upon his wealth of experience as well as that of Perry Zinn Rowthorn (former Connecticut Deputy Attorney General), and Matt Fitzsimmons (former head of the Connecticut Attorney General’s Privacy & Data Security Department and former U.S. Privacy Officer and Lead Cybersecurity Counsel at Cigna Corporation), a former Connecticut Supreme Court Associate Justice and a deep bench of seasoned attorneys experienced in privacy and data protection, antitrust, consumer protection, health care, financial services, environmental and energy, state false claims acts, charities regulation, government investigations and preparing amicus briefs.

George Jepsen possesses a keen insight into all aspects of the activities of state attorneys general, based on his own experience as State Attorney General and working closely with the chief law enforcement officers of all other states. He was actively involved in pursuing antitrust, data privacy, health care, consumer protection and environmental enforcement issues, and commanded a leadership role on high-profile national bipartisan investigations, including price-fixing in the generic drug industry, the largest mortgage-foreclosure settlement in U.S. history, opioid abuse, abusive consumer account practices by a multinational financial services company and an unprecedented data breach by a credit-reporting agency. He also served in the critical role of president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG).

While Deputy Attorney General for the State of Connecticut, Perry Zinn Rowthorn handled complex consumer protection, antitrust, privacy, securities, environmental enforcement, charities regulation and false claims act investigations, litigation and settlements. He oversaw the day-to-day administration and work of the Office of the Attorney General and participated directly in significant high-profile matters involving companies in the financial services, health care, pharmaceuticals, energy and utility, internet and technology and insurance industries.

As head of the Privacy & Data Security Department for the Connecticut Attorney General’s office, the first such organization within a state attorney general’s office in the nation, Matt Fitzsimmons led nationwide multi-state investigations into a number of the nation’s largest data breaches. 

Our attorneys have represented clients in investigations conducted by one or multiple states as well as in other complex matters in key industries such as cybersecurity, insurance, financial services, health care, pharmaceuticals, energy and hotel and hospitality.

Areas of extensive experience include:

  • Consumer protection. The attorneys in our State Attorneys General practice assist clients in addressing issues, investigations and litigation under state and federal consumer protection laws.
  • Data privacy and protection. In conjunction with the firm’s Data Privacy and Protection team, our attorneys advise clients on national and international data breach matters, represent them during government breach investigations and provide regulatory and compliance guidance.
  • Antitrust litigation. Attorneys in our State Attorneys General and Antitrust Litigation practices have extensive experience with litigation of antitrust issues. They provide a full range of services and represent clients in state and federal government investigations, multidistrict litigation and private antitrust matters.
  • Financial services. Attorneys in our State Attorneys General and Corporate and Financial Litigation practices have significant experience with regulatory and enforcement issues in the financial services and mortgage industries.
  • Health care. Our Health Care attorneys work with attorneys in the State Attorneys General practice to represent clients on a variety of complex issues, including Medicaid fraud, health care false claims and mergers of health-care facilities.
  • Environmental and energy. In collaboration with the firm’s nationally recognized Environmental and energy practice, our attorneys represent clients in regulatory compliance, enforcement and litigation matters.
  • Charitable organizations. Our Exempt Organizations attorneys have extensive experience representing charitable and other tax-exempt organizations in their formation, operation and dissolution, as well as in audits and enforcement matters with federal and state regulators.
  • Amicus briefs. Our attorneys, including a former Associate Justice for the Connecticut Supreme Court, have experience drafting amicus briefs and gaining support from other state attorneys general.

Attorneys

Michele Backus Konigsberg
Partner
mbackus@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7757
Washington, DC Office
James W. Bergenn
Partner
jbergenn@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5639
Hartford Office
Vincenzo Carannante
Partner
vcarannante@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5096
Hartford Office
Raymond J. Casella
Partner
rcasella@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5808
Hartford Office
Michael Chase
Associate
mchase@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5194
Hartford Office
Alexander R. Cox
Associate
acox@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5236
Hartford Office
Andrew N. Davis
Partner
adavis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5839
Hartford Office
Joan W. Feldman
Partner
jfeldman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5104
Hartford Office
Matthew F. Fitzsimmons
Partner
mfitzsimmons@goodwin.com
860-251-5819
Hartford Office
Stephanie M. Gomes-Ganhão
Associate
sgomesganhao@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5239
Hartford Office
Barry C. Hawkins
Of Counsel
bhawkins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8104
Stamford Office
George C. Jepsen
Partner
gjepsen@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5915
Hartford Office
Joette Katz
Partner
jkatz@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8147
Stamford Office
Hartford Office
Aaron D. Levy
Partner
alevy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5893
Hartford Office
Adam M. Masin
Partner
amasin@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5154
Hartford Office
Mark K. Ostrowski
Partner
mostrowski@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5634
Hartford Office
Jill M. O'Toole
Partner
jotoole@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5909
Hartford Office
Edward B. Parks II
Partner
eparks@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7753
Washington, DC Office
Damian J. Privitera
Associate
dprivitera@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5504
Hartford Office
Matthew Ranelli
Partner
mranelli@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2805
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
William J. Roberts
Partner
wroberts@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5051
Hartford Office
Perry Zinn Rowthorn
Partner
prowthorn@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5955
Hartford Office
Morgan P. Rueckert
Partner
mrueckert@goodwin.com
860-251-5821
Hartford Office
James P. Ruggeri
Partner
jruggeri@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7752
Washington, DC Office
Joshua D. Weinberg
Partner
jweinberg@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7754
Washington, DC Office
Sarah A. Westby
Associate
swestby@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5503
Hartford Office

Experience

Landmark Settlement Between State Unions and State Officials Regarding Claims of Retaliation and Misconduct
Led Multistate Settlement Negotiations with Opioid Manufacturers and Distributors
Multistate Settlement with National Financial Services Company Regarding Alleged Misconduct
Multistate Investigation of Generic Drug Price Fixing
Reviewed Conversion of Non-profit Hospitals to For-profit Status
Negotiated State Approval of Drug Treatment Facility
Negotiated State Approval of Specialty Rehabilitation Hospital
Supervised State Energy and Utility Advocacy Matters
Investigation of Marketing and Sales Misconduct by Electricity Suppliers
Negotiated State Approval of Telephone Service Provider Acquisition
Negotiated Agreement for Utility Company's Environmental Remediation of Power Facility
Negotiated for Financial Assistance for Crumbling Concrete Foundations
Multistate Data Breach Settlement with National Insurance Company
Multistate Investigations of Data Breaches
Investigation of Improperly Managed Charitable Funds
Investigation of Improperly Managed Historical Property by Charity
Brought Suit Challenging Federal Base Realignment and Closure Process and Impact on State Air National Guard
State Ban on Assault Weapons
Dismissal of "Reverse Freedom of Information" Lawsuit
State Sex Offender Registry Statutes
Defense of Legislative Subpoenas in Investigation of State Contracts
Prevented Waiver of Sovereign Immunity
Defense of Constitutional Challenges to Connecticut Laws
State Smoking Ban in Bars and Restaurants
State Citizens' Election Program
State Voter Registration Deadline
Restrictions on Political Contributions to State Elections
State Criminal Prohibition of Physician-Assisted Suicide
State Budget Legislation Authorizing Excess Expenditures
Antitrust Review of Major Hospital Systems Merger
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP 2019. All Rights Reserved.