skip to main content

Opportunity Zones

Significant tax incentives are being offered to specific investment vehicles formed to attract funding for projects and businesses as part of the Qualified Opportunity Zones program that was included in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. Shipman & Goodwin has created a multi-disciplinary team of Tax, Business and Finance and Real Estate attorneys who are experienced in advising clients on the tax benefits, as well as legal, regulatory and procedural requirements involved in establishing Qualified Opportunity Funds as investment vehicles.

The purpose of the Opportunity Zones program is to encourage investment in economically distressed urban and rural communities that will spur economic development and job creation. Eligible investment areas have been designated by state governors as Qualified Opportunity Zones and are now available in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and 5 U.S. territories.

Attorneys on the firm’s Opportunity Zones team provide guidance to corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies, investors, developers and individuals on the full range of rules, eligibility requirements, exemptions and compliance requirements. They also keep clients informed of additional developments, guidance and clarifications issued by the Treasury Department and the IRS.

Opportunity Zones for the state of Connecticut are identified in the map below.  If you click on the map, you will be directed to an interactive map, or you may view a complete list and maps of Opportunity Zones in the United States.

Attorneys

David O. Bigger
Associate
dbigger@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5203
Hartford Office
Julia R. Camarco
Associate
jcamarco@goodwin.com
860-251-5058
Hartford Office
Bruce A. Chudwick
Partner
bchudwick@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5114
Hartford Office
Andrew N. Davis
Partner
adavis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5839
Hartford Office
Robert L. Day III
Associate
rday@goodwin.com
860-251-5602
Hartford Office
Michael J. Fritz
Partner
mfritz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5735
Hartford Office
New York Office
Donald R. Gustafson
Partner
dgustafson@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8103
Stamford Office
Timothy S. Hollister
Partner
thollister@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5601
Hartford Office
Aaron D. Levy
Partner
alevy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5893
Hartford Office
Alan E. Lieberman
Partner
alieberman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5801
Hartford Office
Matthew J. Monteith
Partner
mmonteith@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5784
Hartford Office
Gregory P. Muccilli
Counsel
gmuccilli@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2806
New Haven Office
Kent S. Nevins
Partner
knevins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8163
Stamford Office
New York Office
Matthew Ranelli
Partner
mranelli@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2805
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
William G. Rock
Partner
wrock@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5121
Hartford Office
Louis B. Schatz
Partner
lschatz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5838
Hartford Office
New York Office
James C. Schulwolf
Partner
jschulwolf@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5949
Hartford Office
J. Dormer Stephen
Partner
dstephen@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2803
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Lisa M. Zana
Partner
lzana@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8171
Stamford Office
New York Office

Publications

December 27, 2018  Qualified Opportunity Zones
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2019. All Rights Reserved.