skip to main content

Opportunity Zones

Shipman & Goodwin’s multidisciplinary Opportunity Zones Team includes Tax, Business and Finance and Real Estate attorneys experienced in advising clients on the federal Qualified Opportunity Zones program. The program, included in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, offers significant tax incentives to investors in specific investment vehicles formed to attract funding for projects and businesses.

Our attorneys provide guidance to all potential Opportunity Zone participants, including: institutional investors, developers, banks, private equity and venture capital firms, fund sponsors, private investors, family offices, and nonprofits.

We counsel clients on the full range of issues, rules and requirements related to Opportunity Zones and Qualified Opportunity Funds:

  • Eligibility for capital gains deferral
  • Fund and business formation
  • Structuring investments
  • Regulatory compliance
  • Tax benefits and obligations, including additional developments, guidance and clarifications issued by the Treasury Department and the IRS
  • Accessing capital markets and related transactions
  • Complying with applicable federal and state securities laws (including registering the fund sponsor as an investment adviser or qualifying for an exemption)
  • Combining Qualified Opportunity Zone opportunities with other incentive programs

The purpose of the Opportunity Zones program is to encourage investment in economically distressed urban and rural communities that will spur economic development and job creation. Eligible investment areas have been designated by state governors as Qualified Opportunity Zones and are available in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and 5 U.S. territories.

In order to keep clients up-to-date on developments and opportunities in this area, attorneys on our Opportunity Zones team frequently conduct webinars, give presentations and author articles for professional and business associations.

Opportunity Zones for the state of Connecticut are identified in the map below.  If you click on the map, you will be directed to an interactive map.

Attorneys

Julia R. Camarco
Associate
jcamarco@goodwin.com
860-251-5058
Hartford Office
Bruce A. Chudwick
Partner
bchudwick@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5114
Hartford Office
Andrew N. Davis
Partner
adavis@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5839
Hartford Office
Robert L. Day III
Associate
rday@goodwin.com
860-251-5602
Hartford Office
Michael J. Fritz
Partner
mfritz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5735
Hartford Office
New York Office
Scott M. Gerard
Partner
sgerard@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8195
Stamford Office
New York Office
Donald R. Gustafson
Partner
dgustafson@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8103
Stamford Office
Timothy S. Hollister
Partner
thollister@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5601
Hartford Office
Aaron D. Levy
Partner
alevy@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5893
Hartford Office
Alan E. Lieberman
Partner
alieberman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5801
Hartford Office
Matthew J. Monteith
Partner
mmonteith@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5784
Hartford Office
Gregory P. Muccilli
Counsel
gmuccilli@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2806
New Haven Office
Kent S. Nevins
Partner
knevins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8163
Stamford Office
New York Office
Matthew Ranelli
Partner
mranelli@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2805
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
William G. Rock
Partner
wrock@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5121
Hartford Office
Louis B. Schatz
Partner
lschatz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5838
Hartford Office
New York Office
James C. Schulwolf
Partner
jschulwolf@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5949
Hartford Office
J. Dormer Stephen
Partner
dstephen@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2803
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Lisa M. Zana
Partner
lzana@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8171
Stamford Office
New York Office
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP 2019. All Rights Reserved.