skip to main content

Litigation

The litigation practice at Shipman & Goodwin LLP consists of 67 attorneys representing clients in state and federal courts throughout the United States.  Our Insurance and Reinsurance practice is nationally ranked in Chambers, while four other practice areas are ranked within their state.  Among our litigators, 26 have been selected as Super Lawyers®, 7 as Rising Stars® and 14 as Best Lawyers®; 19 of our litigators are AV rated by their peers within Martindale Hubbell.

Our practice is extensive and diverse, ranging from small cases to complex actions requiring substantial resources, legal research, planning and trial skills.  As a result of our various longstanding client relationships, our trial lawyers regularly handle complex matters in multiple jurisdictions throughout the country.  Over the last five years we have appeared in over 40 jurisdictions including Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Texas and Ontario, Canada.

Attorneys

Michele L. Backus
Partner
mbackus@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7757
Washington, DC Office
Joseph A. Bailey III
Partner
jbailey@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7782
Washington, DC Office
Alison P. Baker
Associate
abaker@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4887
Washington, DC Office
Philip H. Bartels
Of Counsel
pbartels@goodwin.com
(203) 869-5600
Greenwich Office
Michelle Morris Beecy
Associate
mbeecy@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7763
Washington, DC Office
James W. Bergenn
Partner
jbergenn@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5639
Hartford Office
Robert M. Borden
Partner
rmborden@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5823
Hartford Office
Christopher J. Cahill
Associate
ccahill@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5786
Hartford Office
Michael Chase
Associate
mchase@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5194
Hartford Office
James G. Christiansen
Counsel
jchristiansen@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7755
Washington, DC Office
Brian Clemow
Partner
bclemow@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5711
Hartford Office
Michael T. Conway
Partner
mconway@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3011
New York Office
Alexander R. Cox
Associate
acox@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5236
Hartford Office
Jennifer Brooks Crozier
Associate
jcrozier@goodwin.com
(203) 836-2810
New Haven Office
Hartford Office
Glenn M. Cunningham
Partner
gcunningham@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5722
Hartford Office
John J. DiMarco
Associate
jdimarco@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4681
Washington, DC Office
Hartford Office
Sarah E. Dlugoszewski
Staff Attorney
sdlugo@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5103
Hartford Office
Keegan Drenosky
Associate
kdrenosky@goodwin.com
203-324-8139
Stamford Office
Christopher R. Drury
Partner
cdrury@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5017
Hartford Office
Lee Anne Duval
Counsel
lduval@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5562
Hartford Office
Patrick M. Fahey
Partner
pfahey@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5824
Hartford Office
Alfredo G. Fernández
Associate
afernandez@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5353
Hartford Office
Stephen M. Forte
Counsel
sforte@goodwin.com
(212) 376-3015
New York Office
Ross H. Garber
Partner
rgarber@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5901
Hartford Office
Washington, DC Office
Frederick S. Gold
Partner
fgold@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8110
Stamford Office
New York Office
Ira H. Goldman
Partner
igoldman@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5820
Hartford Office
Eric S. Goldstein
Partner
egoldstein@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5059
Hartford Office
Shari M. Goodstein
Partner
sgoodstein@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8161
Stamford Office
Katherine M. Hance
Associate
khance@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7767
Washington, DC Office
Barry C. Hawkins
Partner
bhawkins@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8104
Stamford Office
John C. Hockenbury
Partner
jhockenbury@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7779
Washington, DC Office
Joshua E. Holt
Associate
jholt@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4893
Washington, DC Office
Charles L. Howard
Partner
choward@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5616
Hartford Office
Catherine F. Intravia
Partner
cintravia@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5805
Hartford Office
James T. Joyce
Associate
jjoyce@goodwin.com
860-251-5068
Hartford Office
Alexander R. Karam
Associate
akaram@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7781
Washington, DC Office
Michael A. King
Associate
mking@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5659
Hartford Office
Kathleen M. LaManna
Partner
klamanna@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5603
Hartford Office
Corinne O. Lane
Associate
clane@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7780
Washington, DC Office
Charles E. Leasure
Partner
cleasure@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7774
Washington, DC Office
Douglas M. Mangel
Partner
dmangel@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7756
Washington, DC Office
Nena E. Mashaw
Associate
nmashaw@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7771
Washington, DC Office
Joshua P. Mayer
Associate
jmayer@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7758
Washington, DC Office
Janet R. McFadden
Counsel
jmcfadden@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7768
Washington, DC Office
Myles Morrison
Associate
mmorrison@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4889
Washington, DC Office
Susan S. Murphy
Counsel
smurphy2@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5707
Hartford Office
Mark K. Ostrowski
Partner
mostrowski@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5634
Hartford Office
Jill M. O'Toole
Partner
jotoole@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5909
Hartford Office
Edward B. Parks II
Partner
eparks@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7753
Washington, DC Office
Diane C. Polletta
Counsel
dpolletta@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8179
Stamford Office
Marie C. Pollio
Partner
mpollio@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5561
Hartford Office
William J. Ronalter
Partner
wronalter@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5126
Hartford Office
Morgan P. Rueckert
Partner
mrueckert@goodwin.com
860-251-5821
Hartford Office
James P. Ruggeri
Partner
jruggeri@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7752
Washington, DC Office
Paul D. Sanson
Partner
psanson@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5721
Hartford Office
Daniel A. Schwartz
Partner
dschwartz@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5038
Hartford Office
Stamford Office
Johnathan P. Seredynski
Associate
jseredynski@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8194
Stamford Office
Ingrid A. Smith
Associate
ismith@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7797
Washington, DC Office
Karen T. Staib
Partner
kstaib@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5612
Hartford Office
Clarisse N. Thomas
Associate
cthomas@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8164
Stamford Office
Miranda H. Turner
Associate
mturner@goodwin.com
(202) 741-4884
Washington, DC Office
Joshua D. Weinberg
Partner
jweinberg@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7754
Washington, DC Office
Michael L. Widland
Partner
mwidland@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8101
Stamford Office
Abigail W. Williams
Associate
awilliams@goodwin.com
(202) 469-7784
Washington, DC Office
Latonia C. Williams
Associate
lwilliams@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5037
Hartford Office
Robert L. Wyld
Partner
rwyld@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5620
Hartford Office
Julia C. Zajac
Associate
jzajac@goodwin.com
(860) 251-5692
Hartford Office
Andrew M. Zeitlin
Partner
azeitlin@goodwin.com
(203) 324-8111
Stamford Office

News

November 1, 2017  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2018 "Best Law Firms"
August 15, 2017  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 43 Firm Attorneys
May 26, 2017  Chambers Recognizes 22 as Leaders in Their Field
April 24, 2017  DC Attorneys Honored by 2017 Super Lawyers
November 28, 2016  Bill Ronalter Receives Board Certification in Civil Trial Law
November 3, 2016  Jim Bergenn, Joan Feldman and Tim Hollister Named "Top Lawyers"
November 1, 2016  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2017 "Best Law Firms"
October 18, 2016  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2016 Super Lawyers
August 15, 2016  "Best Lawyers in America" Recognizes 39 Firm Attorneys
March 1, 2016  2016 International Guide to Litigation and Dispute Resolution
November 2, 2015  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2016 "Best Law Firms"
October 19, 2015  CT Attorneys Recognized as 2015 Super Lawyers
November 25, 2014  Shipman & Goodwin Named Go-To Law Firm by Fortune 500 Companies
November 3, 2014  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2015 "Best Law Firms"
June 24, 2014  Frederick Gold Published in ABA's Litigation Journal
March 12, 2014  2014 International Guide to Litigation
March 3, 2014  Steps to Take After Allegations of Misconduct
February 13, 2014  Washington, D.C. Expands National Insurance Practice
November 1, 2013  Shipman & Goodwin Ranked Among 2014 "Best Law Firms"
July 29, 2013  Employment Litigator/Prominent Social Media Lawyer Joins
April 29, 2013  DC Attorneys Honored by 2013 Super Lawyers
March 20, 2013  International Litigation Guide Looks to S&G to Author Connecticut Guidelines
February 6, 2013  Attorneys & Firm Recognized by "Benchmark Litigation"
November 1, 2012  Firm Ranked Among 2013 "Best Law Firms"
© Shipman & Goodwin LLP, 2017. All Rights Reserved.